Our vision is compassionate care for all human beings.

Clinical and Support Options Inc. began as the Franklin County Mental Health Association, incorporated in 1955 by 22 concerned citizens interested in providing for the mental health needs of families in Franklin County. Today, we employ nearly 700 multi-disciplinary staff, helping thousands of families throughout Western Massachusetts and the North Quabbin region.

Our core competencies lend themselves to the development of a “one-stop” model of comprehensive, holistic services to individuals and families with multiple and complex issues. To do so, we commit internally to excellence in our services while we collaborate externally with community partners to establish and participate in a comprehensive system of assistance and resources for the residents of our communities.

Our long experience with people who have all kinds of disabilities and behavioral health problems leads us to believe that there are no individuals or families we cannot serve well. Our expertise, in a nutshell, is supporting people in their progress toward self-sufficiency no matter what challenges they face on that journey.  Our leadership team empowers our organization to deliver that care.


Our Executive Staff

Karin Jeffers
Chief Executive Officer

Clinton Thornton
Chief Financial Officer

Melody Arsenault
Vice President of Human Resources

Nick Fleisher
Vice President of Community Based Programs

Bill Miller
Vice President of Housing and Homeless Services

Karen Poisson
Vice President of Outpatient Services

Tom Colo
Associate VP of Family Support Services

Joanne Bird
Associate VP of Administrative Operations

Sandi Walters
Associate VP of Community Family Services

Geoffrey Oldmixon
Associate VP of Marketing & Development

John Swanson, M.D.
Medical Director

Matthew Friedman, M.D.
Associate Medical Director

Alex Altamarino, M.D.
Associate Medical Director, Addiction Services


Our Board of Directors

Keith Obert, Chairman

Daniel J. Pouliot, Vice Chair

Fred Dean, Treasurer

Kathleen Pellegrino, Clerk

Maura Breshnahan

Ira Bryck

Mat Geffin

Yaw Gyebi, Jr.                                                                                             

Amelia Holstrom